Pizza in Motion noted today that Hyatt has made their updated award chart available to see which categories their properties will fall under come January 22, 2015 to determine how many Gold Passport points will be required for a free night.

While some hotel chains update their award charts on a whim, Hyatt updates theirs once a year. I prefer their a once-a-year approach as it makes it more reasonable for members to plan and save up a specific number of points for a holiday whereas when the redemption chart changes too quickly it can make planning more difficult.

The changes go into affect for all new reservations starting January 22, 2015. Award redemption reservations made prior to that date will be honored at the current category levels.

As a refresher, here are the current category levels and the points required for each:

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 5.48.06 PM

Here’s the full list of properties moving UP to a higher category –

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 5.46.06 PM

and here’s the full list of properties moving DOWN to a lower category –

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 5.52.07 PM

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 5.53.13 PM

Here’s a link to the updated award chart.

70 total properties are shifting up or down, with the rest staying at the same category.

Of the Park Hyatt’s, the Park Hyatt Washington is moving down from a category 6 requiring 25,000 points to a category 5 requiring 20,000. Park Hyatt Chennai is going from a category 3 to 2, the Park Hyatt Seoul is moving from category 4 to 5, and the Park Hyatt Maldives is going from a 6 to a 7.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Park Hyatt Maldives which you can read about here, and I definitely think a category shift up is warranted. I’m not really too disappointed or thrilled with the changes, as there is nothing too surprising here.